Bring on Mockingjay!

Having finally finished Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, I just realised I had Jennifer Lawrence narrating the book for me in my head. I normally have Sean Bean narrating my books for me,

The book itself lived up to the hype I’d heard about it.  Katniss being devoid of all emotion works well for her. It helps her keep her distance and only care about the people that matter to her the most, Prim, her mother, Gale and Peeta.  At a stretch Haymitch is in there as well.  It did take half the book to get to the actually Hunger Games, which I wasn’t expecting.

The actually setting for the Hunger Games was well thought out and reminded me of Battle Royale (that movie it keeps getting compared to unfairly). With new and gruesome predators being introduced in the game (killer fog anyone) the ability to stay alive was more difficult for everyone. But with teamwork comes the hope of being able to escape and stay alive. Katniss has no idea she’s a pawn in a very big game and in the end everything turns to dust for her.

Those are just my thoughts on the book.  How did you like it?  Leave a comment if you like.

I’m really looking forward to Mockingjay now.

My next book will be Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov about an old man who is obsessed with a prepubescent girl.  The book caused a lot of controversy when it was first published back in the mid 1960s, but I’ve read the first two pages and found the writing well done, even if I don’t like the content of the story. That review should be up in a few days.

Also, my Dads birthday is today, so Happy Birthday Dad.  Hope you have a good one.

He’s turning 64 today. So I’ll leave you with a song.