The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars,

But in ourselves, that we are underlings.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

I’ve just returned home from watching the movie “The Fault In Our Star”.  I laughed, I cried, I cringed and I applauded. The movie is a very close representation of the book, although as Hazel Grace Lancaster would point out it isn’t actually a book. Shailene (I’m not a feminist) Woodley could very well be a shoe in for an Oscar nomination for next year. Her and Ansel Elgort, who plays Augustus Waters,  had great chemistry together which worked well with the story and where it was going.

Having read the book first and being a big fan of the Green Brothers (there’s two of them, John and Hank) I was well aware of the what may have come to pass if they had completely deviated from the book.  My fears were unfounded as I wept along with the rest of the cinema as heart rending scene after heart rending scene played out in front of us.

Now having cleaned up my tear streaked face, I am going to go back a reread the book again, that’s how much i enjoyed the movie.

For those of you who haven’t read the book, go read it, it’s great. The characters are likable and relatable (to a point) and we all wish we talked like Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters when we were that age. And after you’ve read the book and wept with joy and sadness, go see the movie. Then you can feel emotionally compromised all over again.

My review for Catching Fire, my first book in The Reading Challenge will be up tomorrow or Thursday at the latest, so look out world I’m on a roll.