The Reading Challenge

As I start my journey towards my dream of becoming a writer one of the things people say is read.

Read what you like, read what you don’t like, read to the end because it will make you feel better that you finished. Read broadly and widely and without fear. Read what scares you, read what makes you cry and reduces you to a shell of yourself. Read because you want to be a better person, not because someone told you that this book was the next “Harry Potter”.

Read the Classics like they’re going out of fashion. Read poetry you don’t and likely never will understand. Read the Bible. Read about what makes people hope and fear and wish upon a star. Read when no one else is. Read at 3am in the morning when you know you should be sleeping and you’re almost to the end. Read in paperback, in newsprint, on you phone, at the doctors, in the lunchroom, under a moon lit sky, when it’s raining and your protecting your book by putting it under your raincoat.

Read when you break up with your long term partner and take comfort in the knowledge you are never alone with a book. Read when there is nothing else to do. Read where you stand.

Above all else: Read.

So, as an aspiring writer that is what I am going to do: Read.

I will attempt to read one book every week until the end of the year.

It’s Wednesday 4th June today, I haven’t picked up a book in about 6 weeks.

My first book I will read will be Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I’ve already read The Hunger Games and thoroughly enjoyed it, so the second book should be good as well.

This should in theory help me with my writing since it is exposing me to material I would not normally read or write about.

2014-06-04 21.50.13

I will also be posting a short review of the books I read so watch this space.